replace native blog/archive/tag/etc with "Essential grid"

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• replace native blog/archive/tag/etc with "Essential grid"

I managed to replace the native Wordpress templates with the essential grid plugin from Themepunch

You can see it in action at my website (link below)

If anybody wants to use this plugin instructions are here:

http://www.themepunch.com/faq/auto-p...loop-advanced/

The photoblog page of Dirk Beckers. During my free time I’m enjoying photography with the focus on wildlife.

I finally managed to fine-tune the code for Essential Grid and DWB (i'm not a developer)

Essential Grid is now running native as blog/category and tag page on my website: http://www.dirkbeckers.be

<?php
    remove_action( 'genesis_loop', 'genesis_do_loop' );
    add_action( 'genesis_loop', 'db_loop' );
    function db_loop() {

if(is_tag()) $my_posts = get_posts(array( 'posts_per_page' => -1, 'tag' => get_query_var('tag')));
    else $my_posts = get_posts(array( 'posts_per_page' => -1, 'cat' => get_query_var('cat')));

$my_post_ids = array();

foreach($my_posts as $post) {
    array_push( $my_post_ids, $post -> ID );

}

echo do_shortcode('[ess_grid alias="archive" posts="'.implode(',', $my_post_ids).'"]');

}

genesis();
    ?>

Comment

Oh wow!

I do not remember seeing a better site recently! Amazing website!

Comment

I was just thinking, you gave me a nice idea, which I hope I will be able to implement on my site.

So here is my crappy category page currently that I am trying to transform.

Can you please share your steps in creating your neat categories?

Is it :
        I would really like to know the process, before I spend money on the plugin. Appreciate your help.

Comment

• videopixel
          videopixel commented
          Editing a comment
          Those are the steps indeed. But the tutorial is a guideline that works with any wordpress theme. I changed it to work nicer with DWB...